Caribbean region maps and geography facts - World

Перейти к контенту

Caribbean region maps and geography facts

Maps of Caribbean region. Fact file about geography of Caribbean region
Detailed maps of Caribbean region of America. The region includes countries Cuba, Barbados, The Bahamas, Haiti, Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico, Dominica, Jamaica, Grenada, Trinidad and Tobago, Saint Lucia, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines. Physical maps of Caribbean region of America with cities.
The Caribbean is a region of the Americas that comprises the Caribbean Sea, its surrounding coasts, and its islands (some of which lie within the Caribbean Sea and some of which lie on the edge of the Caribbean Sea where it borders the North Atlantic Ocean). The region lies southeast of the Gulf of Mexico and of the North American mainland, east of Central America, and north of South America.
The region, situated largely on the Caribbean Plate, has more than 700 islands, islets, reefs and cays. Three island arcs delineate the eastern and northern edges of the Caribbean Sea: The Greater Antilles to the north, and the Lesser Antilles and Leeward Antilles to the south and east. Together with the nearby Lucayan Archipelago, these island arcs make up the West Indies. The Bahamas and the Turks and Caicos Islands are sometimes considered to be a part of the Caribbean, even though they are neither within the Caribbean Sea nor on its border.
Map of Caribbean
Назад к содержимому